All you need to know about Formula One

What is Formula One?


Formula One or F1 is considered the most prestigious form of racing in the world. It is governed by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile or FIA, based in France. The cars are lightweight, aerodynamic, extremely fast – and among the most difficult to master in all form of racing.


What kind of cars race in F1?


F1 race cars are single-seat, open-wheel race cars, meaning the wheels and tires are outside the car’s body, with the engine behind the driver’s cockpit. Today’s Formula One cars use 1.6 litre four-stroke turbocharged 90 degree V6 reciprocating engines that produce about 760 horsepower and can exceed 360 kmph.

2016 Red Bull F1 car.

Who competes in F1?


Current teams include Scuderia Ferrari, Mercedes, McLaren, Sahara Force India and other automobile companies. Some of the most famous drivers in the world compete in this high speed, drama filled form of racing, including Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel.

Sebastian Vettel driving the 2016 Scuderia Ferrari car.

Has F1 raced in India?


F1 has a dedicated race track for the Indian Grand Prix at Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida. The first edition took place on 30 October 2011, as the 17th race of the 2011 F1 season. The inaugural race was won by Germany’s Sebastian Vettel. Jaypee Sports International Limited is the organizer of Formula One racing in India and has signed a five-year contract with Formula One Management (FOM) to host the championship in India.


In August 2013, FIA announced that the Indian Grand Prix would be missing in 2014 before returning to an early-season slot in 2015. Lately, because of an ongoing tax dispute with the Uttar Pradesh government, that too has been ruled out and will not be returning for the year 2016 and may be 2017 too.

Buddh International Circuit – Main Grand Stand

Are any F1 drivers Indian?


Currently none of the drivers in F1 is an Indian. But there have been two F1 race drivers from India, Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok.


Narain Karthikeyan made his F1 debut in 2005 with the Jordan team and was a Williams Test Driver in 2006 and 2007. In 2011 he returned to F1 with the HRT team and continued with them in 2012. Participating in 48 races and starting in 46 of those he scored just 5 points and ended his F1 career at the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix whereas Karun Chandhok started his F1 career with HRT in the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix and then moved to Lotus in 2011. Participating in just 11 races he ended his F1 career with Lotus at the 2011 German Grand Prix.

Narain Karthikeyan, Sachin Tendulkar and Karun Chandhok on the starting grid.

Is there any Indian team in F1?


The Sahara Force India F1 Team is a team based in Silverstone, United Kingdom with an Indian licence. The team was formed in October 2007 when a consortium led by Indian businessman Vijay Mallya and Michiel Mol bought the Spyker F1 team for €90 million. In October 2011, Indian company Sahara India Pariwar, purchased 42.5% of Force India F1’s shares at US$100 million.


After going through 29 races without scoring points, Force India won their first Formula One world championship points and podium place when Giancarlo Fisichella finished second in the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix, Force India scored points again in the following race when Adrian Sutil finished fourth, and set the team’s first fastest lap, at the Italian Grand Prix. The team’s other podium finishes to date were two third-places, in the 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix and the 2015 Russian Grand Prix, both achieved by Sergio Pérez.

Giancarlo Fisichella of Force India came second after starting from the team’s first pole position at the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix.

What car technology has come from F1?


F1 is considered the most high-tech form of auto racing. Many advancements in F1 technology have been introduced to ordinary cars, including lightweight materials such as aluminum and carbon fiber, traction control, paddle-shifter transmissions and aerodynamic improvements for better mileage.


For more info on F1 rules and regulations visit:


Written by – ASISH AGARWAL.





Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: